Back on the bike

Turbo

The turbo bike

After a few months off I finally got back on the bike on December 31st. 18 miles (at 13mph!) later and I was sore, tired but pleased to have achieved ride #1.

Since then I’ve unpacked the turbo trainer, repaired the turbo bike and bridged the bad weather gap with a couple of easy static sessions.

I’d been worrying (!) that my heart rate was too high for the perceived effort I was making. On reflection I think it’s because this is the first time in years that I’ve been training while REALLY rested (as opposed to barely recovered).

On Sunday I went for a leisure ride with Pat along the new Coastal Connection path between Glyne Gap and St Leonards. The surface is a bit sketchy in places (deep, loose gravel) but I think it will be a popular alternative to the main road. Especially as it has a café on it. We stopped for a brew even though it was only a ten mile ride.

In the afternoon I did a 25 mile circuit through Cooden, Pevensey, Magham Down, Herstmonceux, Ninfield, High Woods and Little Common. I only averaged 14 mph after blowing up in some style with a few miles to go. The Ryvita for lunch was clearly not enough fuel.

And so to today’s session. It was a perfect, mild, windless day. I did the same 25 mile circuit and pushed along about one gear higher. I felt stronger. I did get a bit ragged towards the end, but always in control. It was still only a 15mph run, but that’s progress. I love it when a ride goes well.

If I’m cycling to maintain fitness (rather than to improve racing performance) I think three rides a week should be enough. I’d like to get some more distance work in, but I need to adjust to being back in the saddle before that becomes possible.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on January 10, 2012, in training load. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

