Beach life

I’m still using the metal detector. I’m getting better at pinpointing finds and digging them, which is nice. Most of the finds I dig are bottle tops, ring pulls and aluminium foil which I remove and bin.

Beach finds

Dirty 5p, clean 5p and my first pound coin. Below, the remnant of a hacksaw blade (early 21st century).

Recent expeditions have produced at least one coin every time – it doesn’t feel as if you’re effective unless there’s money involved somehow. Thursday night returned only one penny but Wednesday gave me my biggest haul yet – £1.10. I also found a piece of hacksaw blade. It’s not quite a Bronze Age axe, but it’s a start.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Bexhill, Metal detecting. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

