>Running on beetroot

>Last night was the second of Eastbourne Rovers‘ evening 10m TTs. It was a warm and breezy evening.

I rode with some new base bars and an adjusted tri-bar position (forearms parallel rather than hands together). The position felt okay, but the right hand tri-bar still moved when I hit potholes. It makes riding interesting having to adjust your bars at speed.

The other thing I thought I’d try out was beetroot juice. Beetroot juice is supposed to make you go faster1. I drank 500ml of it at 5pm and by 7.20pm I was rearing to go. But I had a race to ride.

This week was a solo ride rather than a 2-up, so I’d expect to be slower. Perhaps not quite so slow though (a mid-27). The effort level (measured by heart rate) was down. I messed up the couple of miles after the turn – I’m still learning the course.

I suspect that I over geared for most of the race. I’ll try and remember to mount the cadence sensor for the next race to check this.

Did the beetroot work? I certainly rode home fast! It’s quite a shock when you have a pee later – do you remember Mateus Rosé?

Race stats: Time: 27:37 (21.73mph). First 5 miles: 14:09, last 5 miles: 13:28. Top speed: 34.9mph. Slowest mile (4): 3:08 (19.15mph), fastest mile (10): 2:33 (23.53mph). Average HR: 164bpm, maximum HR: 173bpm. Average cadence: ?rpm. 21st of 27 finishers. Winner: Iain Brogden (Eastbourne Rovers) 21:40


1Pubmed article here, picked up via OptimumNutrition4Sport‘s FB page.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on April 29, 2011, in Cycling, time trialling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

