>Team Quest Reliability Trial (short route)

>Sunday was bright and cold. Time for my first event of the year: The Team Quest reliability trial.

I haven’t ridden on the road for several weeks, so I decided to ride the short route (73km). With the ride to the HQ and back I would clock up just over 55 miles for the day.

We started at 9:30 – after the groups riding the full 100km+ course had set out. There were about a dozen of us to start with and we kept it together until about half way (Marlow). I did a bit of work on the front. This was especially valuable on the climb of Winter Hill where I could slip back gracefully and still be in touch by the summit.

The route back was pretty good apart from the climb of Kiln Lane. I’m afraid that I bailed out early and walked (I have a dread of stalling and not being able to unclip my feet on a climb – this dread is based on bitter experience). I think I was still third over the summit.

The last few miles were enlivened by being caught by a couple of faster riders. That hurt a bit. We finished the 73km in about 2:50 to 2:55.

It was a well-organised event with an HQ (great refreshments before and afterwards), free gifts and a well-signposted, carefully thought out route. The season has begun.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on January 31, 2011, in Cycling, reliability trials. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

