>Targets 2010 – review

>I set some targets back in January. They were designed to be challenging and this is reflected in the fact that I missed most of them. This season has turned out pretty much the same as last. This is, perhaps, not that surprising in that I fell back into old habits of training and racing. I did, however, reduce the total racing load (1009 miles this year, 1303 last) in an effort to produce more quality rides.

Target #1 was:

  • Beat 23:00 for a 10 mile TT by the end of the season.
    • Sub goal: personal best (currently 23:37) by the end of the season
I got nowhere near this with a season’s best of only 23:56 in May. I didn’t really ride any fast events after that until the end of the season when my form had gone.

Target #2:

  • Personal best for a 25 mile TT (currently 59:07) by the end of the season.
    • Sub goal: beat the hour by the end of the season.

I was pleased to hit the sub-goal with a 59:50 in August. It was almost 25 years since I had last gone ‘under’. The speed for this time is exactly the same as the speed for my ’10’ time above.

Target… forgot to put this one in:

I was pleased to ride a PB for 30 miles in June. 1:12:44 on the Bentley course is a good ride for me.

Target #3:

  • Average 22+mph for the BBAR distances by the end of the season.
    • Sub goal: personal best (last 3 seasons) for 50 miles (currently 2:06:03) by the end of the season.
    • Sub goal: close to personal best for 100 miles (currently 4:24:14) by the end of the season.
    • Sub goal: close to personal best for 12 hours (currently 238ish miles) by the end of the season.

A big fail on these targets with a DNF in my only ‘100’ and no 12 hour entered. My ride of the season, however, was a PB at 50 miles of 2:03:08 in June. I was pleased with that.

Target #4:

  • Finish, on average, in the top third of finishers in solo time trials during the season.

A big fail here as well. Last year I finished, on average, 55% of the way down the finish list. This I averaged… 55%. Doh! In fact I was about 0.6% worst, but I’ll call that statistically insignificant. A poor start and finish to the season let me down, but the pattern was not dissimilar to last year.

I set no targets for circuit and road racing and that’s just as well really. An even worst season than last year.

When I set next year’s targets I think I need to concentrate on the process as much as the ends. It’s more difficult to stick to a plan that to formulate it.

With the house move hopefully taking place in the New Year, it’ll be a little while before I have a sense of what next year’s season will be like. I may delay setting targets until later in the year. That said, training has started and there’s even an embryonic schedule in place.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on November 27, 2010, in Cycling, time trialling, training load. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

