>…a3crg ’10’

>After recovering from last week’s lurgy and then going down with a bad case of I can’t be arsed to train-itis I finally got back on the bike on Thursday after a six day lay off. Self delusion being what it is, I rather imagined that I would be rested and ready to rip the other riders’ legs off. After twenty minutes my group dropped me. Hubris I think it’s called.

On Saturday afternoon I rode the …a3crg 10m TT on the A3 South of Liphook (the P881r). It’s a fast course and it was a nice day. I did a 24:30 which looks like a decent time for me, but I finished 76th out of 96. Not good.

Race stats: Time: 24:30 (24.49mph). First 5 miles: 12:35, second 5 miles: 11:55. Top speed: 32.2mph. Slowest mile (4): 2:45 (21.82mph), fastest mile (10): 2:04 (29.03mph). Average HR: 164bpm, maximum HR: 168bpm. 76th of 96 finishers. Ave. cadence: 74rpm. Winner: Stephen Whitewick (UTAG Yamaha.com) 19:45


On Saturday evening we were scheduled to see Shakespeare’s Henry IV Part 1 at The Globe. I arrived late and so viewed the first half from the side. Those bloody pillars can’t be right. For the second half I was re-united with Pat and our friends and managed to see the show from the front – much better. Roger Allam has been highly and deservedly praised for his performance as Falstaff.

Sunday was a long drive to Ross-on-Wye and back for my mum’s 80th birthday lunch – nice to meet family and old friends again.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on September 13, 2010, in Cycling, family, theatre, time trialling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

