>Good Friday 10m TT

>To Kingston Bagpuize for High Wycombe CC‘s annual 10m TT. It’s the third time I’ve ridden this event and I’ve always struggled on what is a fast course, albeit a fast course that can catch the wind. Last year I struggled to 25:50, this year I struggled to 27:06.

I’d driven through squalls on the way to the course, but the rain held off for the event proper. The wind, however, seemed likely to be a factor – head out, tail back it looked like. I was pleasantly surprised with my form to the turn and was looking forward to the 30mph plus, tailwind assisted cruise back. It didn’t happen. Apart from the initial descent from the roundabout (where I touched 29mph) the return was a slog. I have no idea why – cross wind perhaps? Other riders told a similar story. The winner was Richard Prebble with the fastest of a clutch of 21s – 21:23.

One pleasing aspect of the ride was an increase in average and maximum heart rate. I went to the doctors midweek and negotiated a halving of my current dose of medication with a view to coming off it completely in 14 days. This was only the second day of the reduced dose, but I definitely felt the difference.

Another good thing – now I think about it, this was a great race – was the after race prize giving. Team mate Peter D and I were two of many riders picked at random to receive prizes – he received an Easter Egg and I landed a box of SIS energy products – in the prizes at last! The photo is by Peter and shows just how distraught I was at recording another average time.

Race stats: Time: 27:06 (22.14mph). First 5 miles: 13:53, last 5 miles: 13:13. Top speed: 29.0mph. Slowest mile (3): 2:58 (20.22mph), fastest mile (7): 2:25 (24.83mph). Average HR: 159bpm, maximum HR: 164bpm. 67 of 83 finishers. Winner: Richard Prebble (Motorpoint Marshalls Pasta RT)

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on April 2, 2010, in Cycling, time trialling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

