>Fail to prepare…

>

…prepare to fail.

First time trial of the year under the belt, but not a great success.

The event was the West London Combine / Middlesex RC 10m TT on the Maidenhead Thicket course (H10/2). The day was bright but eye-wateringly cold with a light headwind back from the turn.

I got to the HQ in plenty of time, rode a few miles to get the driving out of my legs then had a cuppa to get the ice out of my veins.

It was good to see the Willesden CC team turning up and riding together. We’ve got a decent squad this season (the team’s report is here).

As I rode to the start my front changer cable snapped. I’d given the bike a three hour test on Friday, but I hadn’t done much work on the big ring (fail #1). The ride was going to be a cadence test with a top gear of 39×11 (95.7″).

In fact I didn’t miss the bigger gears. I trundled to the turn feeling quite positive, but then team mates started catching and dropping me. I kept pushing to the finish though.

I finished with a 28:19 – my slowest ever on that course and nearly 2 minutes slower than the same event last year. I’ve no idea how the ride broke down because I accidentally switched my Garmin off at the start (fail #2).

I’m not sure why I was so slow (the winner, Peter Weir of Maidenhead and Dist CC, was only 19 seconds slower than last year with a 23:06). Maybe I was too calm. Maybe the medication I am on is slowing me down. I feel fit and the training numbers look all right for March.

The next race is another WLC event – a 25m TT on the Amersham Road course in two weeks.

Photo by Ron Purdy.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on March 7, 2010, in Cycling, time trialling, Willesden Cycling Club. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >I think you're being rather hard on yourself, Lance. It was a very slow day – we were riding uphill into a headwind for about six miles and it was hard work! Normally, the prevailing wind would be going the other way. Pete's ride was fantastic, though; very impressive. He's really laid down a marker for the rest of us, eh?

  2. >I'm confused rather than down. I'd planned to do a long 25, but I'd expected you and Hippy to beat me by about a minute. So worst case scenario – short 27. And I'm a minute down on that. You're right about Peter's ride – top effort.

Leave a Reply

