>Time off the road

>The last time I rode the bike out of doors was in the Winter Series circuit race on 5th December. Since then I’ve had a mild cold, time away for Christmas in the Yorkshire snow and several days of looking at rain. I have ridden on the turbo trainer a few times – I even took it on holiday (what was I thinking) – but the efforts are compromised by an unusually high heart rate at the moment. I had hoped to keep my fitness level at over 100 AUOF* during the Winter, but the virtual lay off has seen it reduce to nearer 60 AUOF. There’s going to be a lot of work to do during January to get fit again.

I don’t think I’ll be fit enough to ride any more of the Winter Series, so my next targets will be the Chiltern Classic reliability trials and perhaps some local Audax events.

* AUOF = Arbitrary units of fitness

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on December 30, 2009, in imperial winter series, training load. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

