>Season review – part 2 / New season starts already!

>

Today is day one of the 2009/2010 season plan. It crept up on me without me noticing. Luckily it’s down as a rest day, so no need to feel guilty until tomorrow.

Why did last season (as I have to call it now) fall apart?

Might it be over-racing? I did ride more than 60 races despite a long break. The focus on racing did result in some lost quality training sessions – there was hardly any interval work outs once the racing started in earnest. I could have targeted events better, using some races as expensive training and/or testing sessions and others as ‘A’ races. I enjoy racing, so I don’t think I’ll cut back too much next year. I will, however, try and reduce racing miles in the run up to target events.

Could it be a lack of training? I come from an era when ‘miles’ were important. It feels strange to be training less than 7,000 miles a year. But the emphasis has changed from quantity to quality nowadays. I will try and edge my mileage up by about 10% for next year, but the focus will be on a progressive, structured plan rather than hours in the saddle.

Would I benefit from a coach? A moot point. I’m pretty sure that an outside eye, a motivator and a skilled training plan builder would be valuable, but the money ain’t there at the moment. Joe Friel’s Training Bible and an Excel spreadsheet will have to suffice. This is a pity because I think my tendency to get in to a monotonous groove has worked against getting faster. I need to work on those harder, more intense sessions.

Should I eat better? Yes. I’m a junk vegetarian. I don’t think the second part of that description raises insurmountable problems, but the junk bit is an issue. I am permanently tired and struggle to recover. Diet is a big part of that. I will eat more bananas and fewer bite size Milky Ways… I’ve said that before, mind.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on November 9, 2009, in Cycling, training load. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >lance – enjoy your blog. i note your desire to get in more intense sessions but that you also like racing. have you considered racing at palace (also tuesdays). I switched to there from hillingdon last year and although tough felt I got a much better work out from the constant climbing?

  2. >Thanks for the comment. I should try Palace (and Hog Hill) I suppose. Hillingdon is favourite because it's very close (and I do a lot of my training there). I need to work on my climbing tho' so maybe a trip South is in order.

Leave a Reply

