>Last abnormal TT of the season

>Saturday was my first trip to the Calshot velodrome for the Prime Coaching training session (there are more through the Winter). The track is only 142 metres around, so I was worried I’d find it more difficult than the 250 metre Invercargill track that I rode in August. In fact the tighter corners make it much easier to ride high on the banking (more g forces) and it feels a lot safer. The only problem is holding the bike down on the black line as everything is conspiring to push you uphill! I really enjoyed the session. If you’ve never ridden an indoor track before I recommend Calshot and the Prime Coaching team.

Sunday was less fun. The Autumn hill climb season has a great tradition, so I thought I’d have a go at the West London Combine event up Windsor Hill. It’s only half a mile after all. How painful could it be? To my shame I never got as far as the pain – I rode through the first couple of corners and jacked it in. My heart rate wasn’t high, I just felt totally negative about the whole thing. Not good and symptomatic of a continuing issue.

The event was won by Rory Atkins of the Twickenham CC with a 1:58. Second was Willesden CC‘s own Stuart Birnie. It was nice to ride out to the event with the club. A bit embarrassing riding back though.

The photograph of a British hill climb is by the late, great Bernard Thompson.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on October 18, 2009, in Cycling, time trialling, track cycling, Willesden Cycling Club. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

