>Last ‘normal’ TT of the season

>Sunday saw me back on the Marlow ski-slope course (H25/2) for the Hillingdon CC 25m TT. This was the last chance to beat the hour this season. It was also a chance to experiment with a proper taper – reducing the volume of training for a fortnight before the event.

It was a good day to ride: slightly damp at the start, but not much breeze about. I’d done a 1:2:42 last week so the hour was unlikely, but I thought a better ride was possible… It was not to be. I finished with a disappointing 1:3:37, going marginally slower for almost every mile of the course. Why? My TSB was good and positive, but my fitness level was probably not high enough – there just hasn’t been enough time to ramp it up since getting back from New Zealand. And I was in a negative frame of mind.

The negativity wasn’t helped by a man out training electing to sit on my wheel for a few miles after I caught him. His rucksack didn’t seem to slow him down much. Worst still, he jumped past me when my 3 minute man, Des Gayler of the Kenton RC, passed me to pick up the faster wheel. Des advised him to desist and he dropped back. I re-caught and passed the guy and this time he didn’t try and use me as an under-powered Derny. It’s embarrasing to not be able to ride away from a bloke out for a recreational. It’s even more embarrasing when it happens twice in a season.

Congratulations to Willesden CC team mate Peter Dixon who knocked more than 4 minutes off his previous best for a 58:59.

Race stats: Time: 1:03:37 (23.58mph). First 12.5 miles: 32:05, last 12.5 miles: 31:32. Top speed: 38.2mph. Slowest mile (9): 3:13 (18.65mph), fastest mile (2): 1:50 (32.73mph). Average HR: 161bpm, maximum HR: 169bpm. 65th of 89 finishers. Winner: Steve Dennis (East Grinstead CC) 50:11.


Next week I’m doing a Saturday session at Calshot and the West London Combine Hill Climb on Sunday. I hope I can walk up hill in my new cleats.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on October 12, 2009, in Cycling, time trialling, training load. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

