>Two time trials

>Saturday saw me finding my way to Bentley (without getting lost this time) for the Agiskoviner 10m TT on the H10/8. It’s not a flat course, but it’s the one where I’ve done all my fastest times this year, so I was hopeful of a decent performance.

As the season is drawing to a close I’ve given up on trying to boost my training load numbers back to pre-holiday levels. I am now experimenting with a proper ‘taper’: easing off on volume but maintaining some intensity. Would this help?
No.
It was a breezy day – head-breeze on the way out. However 25:50 is my slowest in-season time on this course. I was surprised because I did get the ride out. My heart rate figures were high. This may have been something to do with the tapering of course. The event was won in a 20:30 something.
Race stats: Time: 25:50 (23.23mph). First 5 miles: 14:54, last 5 miles: 10:56. Top speed: 36.8mph. Slowest mile (2): 3:13 (18.65mph), fastest mile (9): 1:52 (32.14mph). Average HR: 165bpm, maximum HR: 171 bpm.
Sunday was the VTTA (London and Home Counties) 25m TT at Marlow. The breeze had dropped, so I travelled hopefully. My motivation and confidence is dropping though as my training numbers drop off.
The ride itself was messy, with lapses of concentration, some fast sections, some negative thoughts – all in all, a bit of a hotch potch. I was happy, therefore, with a 1:2:42. Not a great time, but not a disaster either.
I was caught by my three minute man, 2008 and 2009 British Best All Rounder Nik Bowdler on his way to victory. He pushes a big gear VERY smoothly.
Race stats: Time: 1:02:42 (23.92mph). First 12.5 miles: 31:27, last 12.5 miles: 31:15. Top speed: 38.6mph. Slowest mile (9): 3:05 (19.46mph), fastest mile (2): 1:48 (33.33mph). Average HR: 158bpm, maximum HR: 166bpm. 40th of 66 finishers. Winner: Nik Bowdler (Farnborough and Camberley CC) 52:35.
About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on October 5, 2009, in Cycling, time trialling, training load. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

