>Gregarios Superclub Ciclista circuit race

>Gregarios Superclub Ciclista – isn’t that a great name. Good club too. Unfortunately my performance did not grace their turn at running the Tuesday night criterium at Hillingdon last night.

I sat at the back of the group feeling a bit sorry for myself (no training for a while) for about 15 miles. I was keeping up all right – just not moving forward to make things easier in what was quite a fast race by recent 4th cat standards. I was trying to will the ‘3 laps to go’ board to appear when I heard a clang as my rim hit the tarmac – puncture. I rolled to the side, only to discover that I had imagined the whole thing: the tyre was as sound as a pound.

So, an embarrassing DNF for my last race.

Race stats: Race distance (for me): 15.22 miles, time: 36:16 (25.2mph average speed). DNF. Top speed: 29.3mph. Fastest mile: 2:15 (26.7 – mile 10), slowest mile: 2:27 (24.5mph – miles 8 and 11). Average HR: 160bpm, maximum HR: 167bpm. Winner: Karl Norfolk (Pedalon.co.uk)

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on July 22, 2009, in Cycling, Hillingdon, road racing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

