>A Bentley course weekend

>A ’10’ yesterday and a ’25’ today on the H10/8 and H25/8 (Bentley courses) respectively. One good ride and one indifferent.

Saturday 20th June – Farnborough and Camberley CC 10m TT

A fine day and an easy week’s training (too lazy to go out on Friday – my CTL is dropping away though – need to be careful). I had my journey to the event planned out (allowing a decent contingency) and set of hopefully… Straight into a traffic jam on the A40. By the time I’d tacked my way through Hayes and West Drayton to the M4 I was seriously behind schedule.

I got to the HQ with about 30 minutes to start time. Picked up my number, pumped up the tyres, changed and headed for the start. Normally I like at least 30 minutes warm up for a ’10’ but this time I was lucky to get 10 minutes.

With the adrenalin flowing I hit the start harder than normal and tried to keep it going. My heart rate figures are the highest I’ve scored this season. The final result? 23:48 – my second fastest time ever and a PB for the current and last three seasons. I knew a 23 was due, I just wished I could have been calmer about the whole thing.

Race stats: 10 miles in 23:48 (25.21mph). 26th out of 68 finishers. Slowest mile (2): 2:40 (22.50mph). Fastest mile (10): 2:02 (29.51mph). Top speed: 34.8mph. First 5 miles: 12:13, next 5 miles: 11:35. Max heart rate: 173bpm, average HR: 167bpm. Winner: William Girvan (North Hants RC) 20:51.

Sunday 21st June – Farnham RC 25m TT

This morning, of course, I was there too early. I sat in the car for a while – it was very cool for the warm up. When the event started I thought I was going all right, but my time (1:3:15) was disappointing after yesterday. It was cooler and the breeze was probably stronger, but I need to be moving on from having a 1:3:** as my default time.

Race stats: 25 miles in 1:3:15 (23.72mph). 59th out of 90 finishers. Slowest mile (2): 2:55 (20.57mph). Fastest mile (23): 2:06 (28.57mph). Top speed: 32.6mph. First 12.5 miles: 31:27 next 12.5 miles: 31:48. Max heart rate: 164bpm, average HR: 155bpm. Winner: Jerone Walters (Sigma Sport) 52:03.

The picture is from last week’s ’50’ (I was faster then TWICE in a row for goodness sakes!).

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on June 21, 2009, in Cycling, time trialling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

