>Team Quest LVRC Circuit Race / a new play

>I’m going to be working Wednesday nights soon, so this might have been last chance to ride one of these Team Quest LVRC crits at Hillingdon. Probably a good job given my performance!

All of the age-related categories start in one bunch and there were some top riders in there. After two days off the bike I was feeling a bit ‘off’, which didn’t help. It was a big bunch and I was nervous. I gradually edged my way to the back. I know this is a bad thing, but I find it difficult to mix it at speed. After a series of accelerations I was dropped after five miles. I did a couple of laps solo and then was invited to stop and rejoin the bunch, which I did for another couple of laps. Dropped again, I rolled around for a few laps before packing. Only my second DNF of the season.

The performance wasn’t great, but it was my negativity that disappointed me. It was as if I pre-failed the race.

Race stats (for the bit I did): DNF. Race distance: 15.2 miles, time: 39:27 (23.1mph average speed). Top speed: 31.6mph. Fastest mile: 2:11 (27.5mph – 3rd, 4th and 11th miles), slowest mile: 2:54 (8th mile). Average HR: 161bpm, maximum HR: 170bpm. Winner: Colin Roshier (Team Quest)

Playwriting

Some good news though: I’ve been commissioned to write a 10 minute play. I’ve written it and it has been delivered.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on April 23, 2009, in Cycling, Hillingdon, playwriting, road racing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

