>Chertsey

>Today’s race was a London Dynamo / Surrey League event at Chertsey. It’s a great circuit – about 2 miles long and plenty of variety. I was sure that I’d be out of the back straight away but the ‘training race’ format made sure that I was warmed up and had tried a few different ways of attacking the gradients and corners before the 20 mile race began in earnest.

The race pace was more even than at Hillingdon and I was okay until the last lap. I didn’t fancy mixing it on the final twisting descent and finished just off the back.

The winner of the race was Steven Jarsall (Sigma Sport). The race stats were: position – 57th of 68 finishers, race distance – 19.76 miles, my race time – 50:00, average speed – 23.7mph, average HR – 143bpm, maximum HR – 163bpm, top speed – 34.8mph (the 15th mile), fastest mile (the 10th) – 2:18 (26.1mph), slowest mile (the 1st) – 2:50 (21.2mph). That average HR is very low by recent standards.

Next week the time trials start. My Winter of circuit racing has made me more resilient, I think, so I shouldn’t be so floored by climbing and starting efforts this season. However, the last week has seen a drop off in training load, so I’m still not properly fit. I guess we’ll see. Sunday’s event is the West London Combine 10m TT on the Maidenhead Thicket course. Last year I did a 28:02. It will be interesting to put down a marker for the rest of the year.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on March 1, 2009, in Cycling, road racing, time trialling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

