>Winter Series race 10

>A brisk day today with frost just clearing as we arrived at the circuit. The Slipstreamers had been cyclo-cross training so there was plenty of mud to be cleared from the circuit (thanks Imperial).

The race itself went well. I find that I’m no longer fearing getting dropped at every stage. I didn’t see much of the front, but I did make a break to join up with a pair of riders who had a small lead. Having caught them, I didn’t know what to do with them, so I sat up and waited for the bunch while trying to get my heart back into my chest.

The sprint was chaotic and I didn’t get involved.

Stats: position – 36th out of 43 finishers, race distance – 18.28 miles, race time – 45:04, average speed – 24.3mph, average HR – 154bpm, maximum HR – 176bpm, top speed – 29.6mph (in the ‘sprint’), fastest miles (the 12th and 14th) – 2:20 (25.7mph), slowest mile (the 1st) – 2:49 (21.3mph).

The winner was James Lowden of Lewes Wanderers.

The picture (that’s me bridging to the two leaders) is by Sylvain Garde and is part of a gallery on LondonCycleSport.

This was the fastest race and my best for recovery. This is partly due to being less stressed and, I think, because the remnants of the virus I had over a month ago are slowly clearing my system.

Tonight is the Willesden CC club dinner. I have to drive, so no drinking.

Tomorrow is the Harp Hilly Hundred reliability trial. This was the second road event I ever rode back in 1974 (the first was a Boxing Day 1973 10m TT). I haven’t got the base miles in this Winter, so it’ll be interesting to see how I last. The weather forecast is changing by the minute, but it should be a wet and windy ride.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on January 24, 2009, in Cycling, Hillingdon, imperial winter series, road racing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

