>Winter Series race 9 – better

>
No snow this week. It was even quite warm. A light breeze kept the average speed down.

I achieved a couple of targets today:

  • I led the bunch for about a third of a lap (the tailwind section). It took a couple of laps to recover from that.
  • I tried to break away. I don’t think anyone noticed. It took a few laps to recover from that.
  • I tried to sprint at the end. This failed because I was over-geared, too far back and sprinted like a blancmange. If I had got it right I might have got 22nd place rather than 23rd.

It was interesting to see some of those ahead of me taking to the grass as the real sprint opened up – someone had pulled a foot out of their pedal.

It’s not really safe to practice sprinting from 30th position as the people in front are sitting up. I need to do some solo work in training. Being a dumb tester I think I’m going to have to work on a long sprint. I was doing 30 second ‘100%’ intervals earlier on in the Winter, but I’ve eased off these to try and get ride of persistent ‘almost-a-cold’ symptoms.

Stats: position – 23rd out of 35 finishers, race distance – 18.23 miles, race time – 46:16, average speed – 23.6mph, average HR – 160bpm, maximum HR – 172bpm, top speed – 29.1mph (in the ‘sprint’), fastest mile (the 8th) – 2:22 (25.4mph), slowest mile (the 1st) – 2:58 (20.2mph).

My average HR was lower than it has been, which is good. I did some proper level 2 recovery rides this week which may have helped.

Winner: Antony Leeson, Addiscombe CC.

Photograph by Lucy Collins via LondonCycleSport.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on January 17, 2009, in Cycling, Hillingdon, imperial winter series, road racing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

