>Winter Series race 7

>The fastest race of the series so far (24.2mph average). This was partly because it was a rare wind-free day at Hillingdon. Still cold mind.

I was there at the end again. I’m going to have to accept finishing in the bunch as a new base line and start to think more progressively. As it was, I slipped back through the group on the last lap because of all the ‘nervousness’ going on. As we hit the bottom corner I decided to ‘sprint’ to pick up a few places. My ‘sprinting’ involved carefully picking my way past the blokes who had sat up, but it was a bit of fun. Final position – 35th out of 43.

Some stats: top speed=29.9mph; average heart rate=161bpm; maximum heart rate=175bpm; fastest mile (the last one)=2:20=25.7mph; slowest mile (the first one)=2:43=22.1mph.

My HR was probably a bit high because I can’t kick this chest trouble. I can breath okay, but it all feels a bit raw once the racing stops.

The race was won by Miles Stovold of Dulwich Paragon.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on January 3, 2009, in Cycling, Hillingdon, imperial winter series, road racing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

