>Winter Series races 4 and 5

>
I didn’t ride race 4 on Boxing Day because I had drunk too much the day before and was still getting over the cold. I did a 30 odd mile ride in the South Downs instead and accidentally went up a hill (just outside South Harting). The 21 sprocket was not big enough and I had to stop twice to ‘admire the view’ (it was a nice view – see right).

I did not have high hope for today’s event (race 5), but I’m getting fed up of missing events, so I rode anyway. It was a much smaller field than race one. By being crafty (not doing a turn) I managed to hang on for 10 miles. I am better at conserving energy than I used to be. The last six miles on me todd were tough: it was a cold, breezy day. The conditions were not conducive to solo efforts. I was lapped before the end but continued to finish 27th out of 28 finishers. The winner was Mark Edwards of Hillingdon Triathletes.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on December 27, 2008, in Cycling, Hillingdon, imperial winter series, road racing. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >Lance, keep racing you’ll get there. Are you training during the week? Have you tried some of the Dulwich Paragon chaingangs on Wed nights? R. http://lbrc.org

  2. >Thanks for the encouragement, Richard. I do train during the week, though a cold has hit the recent schedules. The Dulwich rides would be a bit far away for me – most of my group training is at Hillingdon or in the Chilterns. Look forward to seeing you at Hillingdon – LW

Leave a Reply

