>Hard rides

>This is turning into a difficult part of the season…

Training has started going well again – I had some speed AND endurance for Thursday night’s group work. I had high hopes for this weekend…

Saturday was an open 10m TT near Theale (a new course for me). It was a blustery day, but I hoped I could beat my rather poor second best time for the season (26:56). The day did not go well: I couldn’t find the HQ for ages and I mistimed my warm-up, arriving at the start too early. Starting cold into the headwind was hard work and, just as I’d got going, I was halted by a red light at a pedestrian crossing. Still, as I powered back from the turn, still a chance of beating that 26:56 I thought. At 9 miles I punctured. DNF. B*gg*r.

Later it transpired that the front tubular had a slow puncture as well. That’s me out of tubs. No tubs, no disc wheel. B*gg*r.

Sunday was the West London Combine 50m TT. I hoped to beat 2:20:00 for this (that’s slow, but it’s a lumpy course and I was on my spare wheels). It was windy again though. I struggled out to the 25m point in an depressingly slow 1:18:30 – not good. The return, tailwind leg was faster though and I recorded a 2:25:23 (actually 2:23:47, but they adjusted the times for a short course).

That’s three poor rides on the bounce after a enforced lay off. I need to find my stride again. My training is a bit ‘stale’ – I’ve tried to make it progressive, but it’s difficult to do that in isolation.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on July 20, 2008, in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

