>Reaching the peak

>Last Sunday’s event was meant to be my season peak. The Don Woodman 25m TT run by my old club, Ross-on-Wye and District CC, is a great event and I’d hoped to do a fast time. However, a month without racing and much reduced training told.

The weekend started well. We booked a B&B on the course and I had a good training run on half of it the day before. Sunday morning dawned bright and, more importantly, still and I had a nice warm up riding to the event headquarters in Usk. There was a slight glitch when I realised that the tub on my disc wheel was softening, but I had a spare set of wheels and swapped them in.

The race itself was all right. I’m still not breathing right, but I had my heart rate in the zone and only ‘slept’ for a couple of miles the whole race. The uphill bits probably took more toll than they should have had I been in form. I ended up with a disappointing 1:4:26. The winner was Colin Parry of VC St Raphael with a short 53.

The compensation for the poor time was a great weekend. It was a belated birthday mini-break, so we caught up with family and on the journey home we visited Bath and Avebury.

My legs are heavy now, but I hope that I’ll be in better form next weekend.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on July 15, 2008, in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

