>First ’50’ since 1983

>
This was a trial. My legs had been sore all week – the feared hypochondria was back. I cut back on training (didn’t ride at all on Saturday), but still they ached. Saturday night, I went to bed early with the alarm set for 3:50am.

The world is very different at 3:50am – there is no Radio 4 for a start. I headed North to Tempsford to sign on, get my number and queue for the loo.

Tempsford North of Sandy was a bleak place in the early morning fog. Having finished queueing, building the bike and moving food from pocket to pocket I ‘warmed up’. Having ‘warmed up’ for 3.9 miles I got to the start a little early and cooled down again.

6:28am and I was off. Once riding things clicked into place. Manage the pain, pace the ride, drink a little and often. Some riders caught me, but I caught some too. Heading North was a headwind, but the two lap course meant that there were tailwind stretches to recover on. I finished with a 2:8:24 (target 2:9:59) with a first 25 miles in 1:4:01. I was happy with that – I was hanging on for the last 8 miles. That’s my third fastest ’50’ ever.

Plus points: finishing, beating the conservative target. Minus points: legs as sore as hell, messing up the eating (one third of an energy bar forced down, many seconds lost). Work to do.

After the race I got home and P and I went for a pub lunch and some walking in the Chilterns. At least this got the legs moving again, though the hills hurt.

Next week I have a couple of 25s scheduled. I also have a new bike to fit and test. I hope to have it ready for Saturday’s race (woo hoo!).

The photo of me riding to a 24 minute ’10’ a couple of weeks ago – the first photo I have of me in TTing action. Thanks Derek.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on June 8, 2008, in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

