>Taking a (self-administered) kicking

>Matt Seaton writes in The Guardian about grace and style in cycling. I’ve been lucky this past few weeks – I’ve been riding well. I’ve had to cut back on rides because of other commitments, but this means that I’m rested and ready to go when I do get out. Until yesterday …

I had planned to go on a Sunday club run – 70+ miles in a group. But the forecast was bad, so I thought that I would take the easy option and go for a solo ride yesterday. I had a pulled muscle in my back, but who needs a back to ride a bike?

From the start I was riding awkwardly (pedalling squares they call it). After an hour I was struggling to find a comfortable position. After two hours I was having to stop every 30-40 minutes to unlock my back. And then it started to rain. And the traffic was bad. And the back muscle spasms were making breathing awkward. I cut the last part of the ride and limped back after 60 miles. Still a long ride for me, but short of what I had wanted.

At least I had burned some calories (still struggling to make the weight), but, feeling sorry for myself, I went to the chippy for my tea. The perfect end …

This morning my back is locked and my eyes are bloodshot. But the weather is bad. I bet no one turns up for the club run.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on October 28, 2007, in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. >The EASY option?? Limped back after *60 miles*?? Blimey Charlie, that’s hardcore. Bet your bike doesn’t have a basket on the front like mine, though.

  2. >Yeah, I’m happy that I can complete that sort of distance at all given my condition in the Spring. Keep following that basket – take care.

Leave a Reply

