>Fitzcarraldo

>P is teaching late so I watched Fitzcarraldo, Werner Herzog‘s take on the Raymond Gubbay story. On reflection, I may have over-emphasised the difficulties encountered in putting up the shed.

Worked on the Birmingham play. Completely uninspired so far, but there were numbers to hit so I kept ploughing on. By the end of the day (i.e. 4.30pm) I was pleased to have solved a couple of technical problems and I know how to start tomorrow’s writing.

I get down on my writing very quickly nowadays. Part of me knows that early drafts will be weak and I kind of pre-judge the work (“it feels okay now, but I know that in a couple of days it will read like sh*te, therefore it must be sh*te.”). I used to rely on those days of delusion to fuel forward momentum. But they’re not available any more, so the schedule must rule. Why can’t I start with the third draft?

Builders back tomorrow.

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on January 16, 2007, in film, House, playwriting. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

