>Christmas list

>A lot of people have been posting seasonal lists on their blogs. Ever the derivative writer, I thought that I would do the same.

Over the last few desperate deadline-approaching days I have been collecting my top ten tips for beating the writer’s block. However, on reflection: a) who am I to offer advice? and b) they can mostly be paraphrased as “keep poking the piece of dead meat with a stick until it gets up and dances round the room whistling a tune from a popular musical”. Only one scrawled note offers any real insight…

“Uncork the n/w / but in Andes”

Sound advice, I think you will agree. I have no idea what it means, but it has become my guiding principle.

The literalist v metaphysical playwright debate is hotting up (it started at Encore) with Paul Miller promising to join in soon. Perhaps there should be a big set-to at a suitable venue. The literalists will obviously use fists, sticks and stones, but what will the metaphysicalists arm themselves with?

Deadline day. I’m still not finished. Arghhhh!… Stay calm… uncork the…

About lancewoodman

Heritage interpreter, playwright and teacher. Living on the South Coast of England.

Posted on December 18, 2006, in playwriting. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. >At the suitable venue, will you be so good as to ose your shed-erection skills and put up a fence? I’ll be needing one to sit on.

  2. >Absolutely. Though I should point out that the said skills will mean the fence will be delivered late and be liable to collapse if looked at a bit funny.

  3. >…it might get a bit crowded on this fence. I can’t think of any playwrights who would place themselves definitively on on side or the other. And I know nearly seven playwrights.

Leave a Reply

